He for she – redressing gender inequality

Many of you will be aware of the #heforshe# campaign instigated by none other than Hermione Granger of Harry Potter fame – aka Emma Watson. Clearly as clever outside her famous role, this formidable young lady makes a number of pertinent points about the gender inequality that is still rife in the world, ways to address it, and the need to enlist ‘a few good men’.

In fact, she might well have channeled my own thoughts, so closely does her wording follow the argument I’ve been having inside my head, and with a few brave friends, for the past 15 years. I’ll leave it in her capable hands. Click on the link below to listen to her impressive speech to the UN.

Emma Watson on gender inequality

8 responses to “He for she – redressing gender inequality

  1. Dear Miss Min
    I just wanted to stop by and ask if you are ok my friend? I keep you in my thoughts and prayers. Last time we caught up things were not too good at your end. I just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you. I’ve just noticed above is says “Follow This Blog” I thought I already was lol.

    Take good care lovely lady.

    Much love, Su x

  2. Hi Su,
    I’m pretty sure you were already following this blog too! WordPress can be confusing. I know I’ve sometimes followed people twice; once via email and once through twitter or perhaps through a reader. πŸ™‚

    Things haven’t improved for me at all. In fact they’re worse as he continues to screw the thumb screws in tighter and tighter. Unbelievable. I’ve read many times that divorcing a narcissist is an absolute nightmare – trust me, it is. I sent you an email a couple of weeks ago – to thethistleblog@gmail.com. Perhaps, it didn’t get through to you? I’ll try again soon, as it would be lovely to connect with you personally. I’ll write more later as I have a busy afternoon planned. This itinerant living is exhausting.

    I hope things are peaceful and content for you at this time…sending you much love and light. xx

  3. Sorry for the late response. Life is in flux at the moment. This speech, by such an intelligent and influential young lady, warms my heart. I’m pleased to have found it and shared.

  4. Reblogged this on Narcissism. Grief. Recovery. Yiddishkeit. and commented:
    Very interesting speech by Emma Watson about the effects of gender Inequality. Did you know that in Britain, the #1 killer of men, aged 21 to 49, is suicide? More young men die from suicide than heart disease or cancer. I find that shocking.

  5. Very interesting to read!
    I would really appreciate it if you could take the time to look at my blog and comment on any thoughts or feelings you may have on various issues regarding domestic violence. It is part of my University degree so I would really appreciate the support, thanks!

  6. I’d be delighted to drop in on your blog, Joss, and will leave some thoughtful comments for you to consider. As you can see, the issue of domestic violence is one that is very close to my heart, and I’ve had significant experience with it personally. I’m busy today but will stop by this evening.

Leave a Reply

